Skip to content
East Dunbartonshire Counts — East Dunbartonshire, in numbers.Local help →

East Dunbartonshire, in numbers

People and living standards

East Dunbartonshire council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

East Dunbartonshire council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population fell from 110,170 in 1991 to 109,550 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

East Dunbartonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 109,300 people in 1996; 109,550 people in 2025. 0.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — East Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991110,170
1992109,680
1993109,270
1994109,540
1995109,850
1996109,300
1997109,280
1998109,040
1999108,670
2000108,620
2001108,250
2002107,350
2003107,000
2004106,540
2005106,040
2006105,590
2007105,050
2008104,940
2009104,960
2010104,920
2011105,000
2012105,910
2013105,970
2014106,930
2015107,350
2016107,830
2017108,460
2018108,560
2019108,870
2020108,880
2021108,920
2022108,990
2023109,340
2024109,680
2025109,550
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

East Dunbartonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,929 people in 1996; 19,334 people in 2025. 15.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — East Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199123,669
199223,419
199323,193
199423,188
199523,103
199622,929
199722,784
199822,677
199922,459
200022,171
200121,966
200221,467
200321,092
200420,735
200520,346
200620,040
200719,612
200819,287
200919,019
201018,733
201118,620
201218,375
201318,168
201418,159
201518,294
201618,508
201718,723
201818,874
201918,995
202019,105
202119,121
202219,219
202319,360
202419,495
202519,334
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

East Dunbartonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 71,153 people in 1996; 62,330 people in 2025. 12.4% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — East Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199172,641
199272,194
199371,797
199471,787
199571,836
199671,153
199770,977
199870,546
199970,072
200069,993
200169,431
200268,561
200368,155
200467,770
200567,321
200666,952
200766,605
200866,430
200966,232
201066,022
201165,761
201266,043
201365,719
201466,027
201565,828
201665,646
201765,699
201865,197
201964,896
202064,424
202164,024
202263,295
202363,137
202462,729
202562,330
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

East Dunbartonshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,218 people in 1996; 27,886 people in 2025. 83.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — East Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,860
199214,067
199314,280
199414,565
199514,911
199615,218
199715,519
199815,817
199916,139
200016,456
200116,853
200217,322
200317,753
200418,035
200518,373
200618,598
200718,833
200819,223
200919,709
201020,165
201120,619
201221,492
201322,083
201422,744
201523,228
201623,676
201724,038
201824,489
201924,979
202025,351
202125,775
202226,476
202326,843
202427,456
202527,886
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 108,955 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · East Dunbartonshire · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total101,83793.5%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 105,026 residents
How this census compares with other years

The 2011 UK table retains its own category structure, including a separate Traveller category. It is not automatically comparable with later national census categories or modern district boundaries.

Ethnic group · East Dunbartonshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White100,59595.8%
Gypsy / Traveller / Irish Traveller270%
Mixed / Multiple ethnic group4200.4%
Asian / Asian British: Indian1,5691.5%
Asian / Asian British: Pakistani7520.7%
Asian / Asian British: Bangladeshi440%
Asian / Asian British: Chinese7010.7%
Asian / Asian British: Other Asian3710.4%
Black / African / Caribbean / Black British2410.2%
Other Ethnic Group3060.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 14.3% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

East Dunbartonshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £11,063 per person in 1997; £29,675 per person in 2024. 168.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — East Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199711,063
199811,356
199912,586
200013,555
200113,879
200214,355
200314,746
200415,292
200515,887
200616,747
200717,550
200818,404
200918,339
201018,664
201118,819
201219,026
201319,503
201419,759
201520,687
201620,996
201721,798
201822,537
201923,177
202022,737
202123,941
202225,547
202327,542
202429,675
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

East Dunbartonshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 4.3% in 1997; 14.3% in 2024. 10 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — East Dunbartonshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19974.3
19984.9
199911.3
200013.9
200112.2
200213.5
200313.1
200412.7
200513
200614.4
200714.4
200816.9
200914.5
201015.6
201115.5
201212.6
201311.4
20149.3
20158.7
20169
201710.6
201810.4
201910
20208.3
20219.6
202211.2
202312.6
202414.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · East Dunbartonshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · East Dunbartonshire council area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£272,000

July 2026 · East Dunbartonshire council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.